Stripe

Although this is a true story, much of the content is down to my imagination (apparently overactive in my husband’s view!) and I have changed the names of my husband and daughter for anonymity. The featured image shows Stripe with his little friend Kumal. I hope these soft-toy tiger biographies will prove entertaining.

Audio version: https://anchor.fm/dashboard/episode/e1l8udq

Stripe

It all began more than a quarter of a century ago with a bottle of mascara! This had been given to me as a present by my daughter Lisa for my birthday or Christmas – it’s hard to recall which, as the proximity of the dates means they tend to merge in my mind. Early in the New Year, when fast approaching her teens, she borrowed the mascara and subsequently used it all up, promising to replace it. As the weeks and months rolled by, a school inset day presented itself in June, and Lisa and I went shopping, with mascara high on the shopping list. Looking in various shops, and with me not too bothered about the replacement as I rarely wear it – vainly believing that my long, dark lashes need no embellishment – we decided they were all too expensive. Aware that Lisa would be paying out of her pocket money, I suggested moving on to look elsewhere. A clothing shop was having a closing-down sale, so we abandoned the mascara hunt for the time being and wandered in to see if there were any bargains on the rails. Once inside the store, we came across a free-standing unit displaying a few soft toys – all reduced – among them a white tiger cub who immediately claimed my attention. I picked him up and looked at the price tag, tempted to buy him, when Lisa, seeing my interest, asked if I would like him instead of the mascara. I didn’t have to think about it, as he was irresistible, with a smile on his face, despite his plight of literally being left on the shelf, and for the knock-down price of £2.99, the tiger came home with us on the bus.

He soon took up residence in our bedroom and acquired the rather unimaginative name of Stripe, though it suits him. He also took on human attributes, including the ability to speak English – not loud enough to be heard, but supposed telepathy and a very vivid imagination make a wonderful combination! He was perfect (almost!), being quiet, undemanding and cheap to run but with just one flaw: he would pull the bedclothes off my husband, Joe. I got the blame, of course, but kept insisting that it was Stripe and it was his hobby. However, Joe remained unconvinced until Lisa and I spent a few days staying with my mum, leaving Stripe at home. On my return, Joe informed me that in my absence the bedclothes had continued to be pulled off him, and I was quick to point out that this proved my argument that it was nothing to do with me and it had been Stripe all along!

Shortly after Stripe arrived, I caught sight of two small soft toy tigers in a local shop. They were identical except for the difference in the colour of their fur, and though priced separately, it was obvious to me they were a pair. Being so delighted with Stripe, I decided to buy them both for Lisa as a present, and so Pearl, the white tiger, and Topaz, her golden-coloured counterpart, moved into her bedroom and were made very welcome.

A few years after this we were joined by another tiger cub – altogether bigger and fiercer in appearance than Stripe, though just as cuddly. We had no trouble deciding that this addition had to be male, and Joe named him Rajah, which we believe means prince in one of the Indian languages, and considers him a good mate! Rajah is the more usual golden colour, has a slightly twisted mouth and a set to his jaw which gives him a defiant look (not unlike Father Jack in the sitcom Father Ted!) and, with his aspirations to go down the pub and watch sport on television, is far more blokey than Stripe! In fact, Rajah’s reaction to TV was quite a revelation as he always appears glued to it and if he is placed looking away from the television set, somehow he seems to turn himself round so he is facing it! To be honest, he isn’t very selective when it comes to viewing, as any programme showing at the time will suit him – and he is not averse to a blank screen either!

With his new friend Rajah, Stripe was no longer lonely or bored and the bed covers suddenly remained in place! They seemed to amuse themselves somehow, and though Rajah has continued to look threatening, in reality he likes nothing more than a cuddle! From their earliest days together, they seemed content to lead a peaceful life, never venturing out of the house.

In September 2004, following a visit to a local museum with her boyfriend, Lisa came home with a present for me – a small white tiger. Different from Stripe, Rajah, Pearl and Topaz as he is very soft and bouncy, he adds another dimension to the tiger family. His arrival came shortly after I had seen the film Two Brothers which centres on tiger cub twins. Separated as youngsters, they led different lives for a while, and were then reunited with each other and their mother, for the happy ending. Not exactly representative of the solitary and aloof lives most tigers lead, but it was quite an endearing story. Our newest tiger was named Kumal, after one of the brothers, though neither was white, and because he was soft and small, he was quite shy and easily frightened. He didn’t like the dark, thunderstorms or being alone, though there was little chance of the latter with Stripe and Rajah to look after him. He also lived in fear of being sent back to the museum. He had hated his time there, as it was so often dark, cold and creepy, especially with the wind howling round the hilltop, and there was always the chance he would be bought and mistreated by his new owner. However, he began to settle in after a while when he realised that in his new home his fears were unfounded. He then started to enjoy bouncing and being a small cub amid two bigger and older tigers.

Following his arrival, Lisa adopted a tigress in my name from the World Wildlife Fund (WWF). This was a birthday present, and in the box with the adoption details, including a photo of Malu Pothi, the tigress, was a small soft toy tiger with brownish-fawn fur and a small face. She became our first female, and I named her Mula Malu – partly after Malu Pothi but with the first half of her name an anagram of Malu. She was a playmate for Kumal, and though not as soft or bouncy, she fitted in well with the trio, all of whom speak perfect English of course!

For renewing my tigress adoption with the WWF a few years later, I received a small soft toy tiger attached to a keyring. This tiny novelty was deemed another female, and after much thought I decided the unusual name of Roarette suited her best. She doesn’t bounce, but swings from the keyring, which can be quite entertaining, if only for a limited time!

I thought that all these tigers would make up our complete big cat family, but have to admit to succumbing to temptation regarding an irresistible tigress with a baby attached to her mouth via a short orange scarf. They were on a shelf in the newsagent at the hospital where I worked, and I spotted them one lunchtime. During the afternoon I did give some thought as to whether I should buy this mother and baby, before returning to the shop and taking them home that day, aware I would almost certainly have to face Joe complaining, “Where are we going to put all these tigers?” Although I was met with this question that evening, he was actually happy for them to stay, and Rani with her cub Golden blended in with the others. She and Rajah became more than good friends and were married on 8th August 2010, with Stripe officiating and the others as bridesmaid, page boy and guests! Of course, there wasn’t an actual ceremony, but soft toys lend themselves very well to flights of imagination.

Rani and Rajah subsequently adopted Mula Malu and Roarette, while Kumal preferred to remain with Stripe. For my birthday in 2010 Lisa presented me with another small tiger – golden in colour and a bit timid, hence his name Timmy. He became a perfect friend for Kumal, and Stripe seems very proud to be their adoptive father.

There is an incompleteness to this saga. In the film Two Brothers, Kumal’s twin is called Sangha, and it seems that somehow a tiger bearing his name should join the clan. This is in the process of happening, courtesy of the soft toy tiger kit Lisa gave me for another birthday. So far, Sangha’s head, comprising ears and eyes, have been stitched together, but it is a slow job as sewing is not my forte (still trying to find out if anything is!) and I am taking care to get all the pieces correctly placed! I now look forward to that glorious day when Sangha will be fully assembled and Kumal can welcome his golden-coloured twin brother into the family.

Thinking back, I am sure that to this day if we had left Stripe behind in the shop, I would have regretted it, and he tells me that had that happened his disappointment would have been immeasurable. Apparently, when I picked him up and looked happily at him, it was the most interest anyone had shown in him, and his hopes of finding a new home where he would be looked after were raised and ultimately fulfilled. Stripe is a much loved soft toy and, despite his advancing years, still looks like a cub, albeit with slightly flattened fur. Meanwhile, Pearl and Topaz have become favourite aunt and uncle to the youngsters, and the entire tiger family lives quietly in perfect harmony. What more could anyone ask for?

Upper Row: Rajah, Roarette, Rani & Golden
Lower Row: Pearl, Timmy, Mula Malu & Topaz

© Chasqui Penguin, 2022

Twitter: @ChasquiPenguin

4 Comments

  1. That was an extremely nice read! 🙂 I am so pleased you rescued him, and then went on to rescue more! 😊

    Like

    1. Many thanks for reading this and your nice reply. Glad you enjoyed it. I like the idea of us having rescued these tigers – must make our house a soft-toy sanctuary!!

      By the way, I am still unable to post a Comment on your blog but at least I’m able to give each one a like. Not sure what’s wrong as any Comments I post on other WordPress sites appear immediately. Very odd. Will persevere with a few words as a trial each time, in case the problem clears itself. Thanks again for your continuing interest in my writing site.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Mia Sharp says:

    A delightful tale of tails.I enjoyed reading it very much.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Many thanks for taking the time to express your appreciation of my tiger story, Mia. So glad you liked it – Stripe and friends will be thrilled! Chasqui

      Like

Leave a Comment