Ancestry

In January 2016 I wrote this for the local writers’ group I belong to. Although it is a fictional story, there are some facts which relate to my ancestry. However, any resemblance to reality is pure coincidence.

The photo above, which I took in the 1960s, is of a replica ninth-century Viking longship called the Hugin. Situated on the clifftop of Pegwell Bay, Ramsgate in Kent, the Hugin was a gift from the Danish government in 1949, to commemorate the 1500th anniversary of the arrival in Kent of the Viking brothers Hengist and Horsa, who settled in the area.

The audio version is on Anchor: https://anchor.fm/dashboard/episode/e1k5adb

Ancestry

Leading up to my early retirement, created by my redundancy at Easter nearly three years ago, I made plans for the future, and this included my long-held desire to look into my family history. Therefore, with part of my redundancy money, I bought a laptop computer so my wife Sheila and I no longer needed to share, and I subsequently joined a genealogy site.

I learned that the Scottish side of my family was descended from Norwegians, way back, which didn’t surprise me. My father, to whom I bore a strong resemblance, was tall and blond and of definite Nordic appearance. With perseverance and increasing amazement, I managed to trace the family line back to the Vikings. It was a long process and confirmed that our surname was a slight variation on Sven, a warrior of fierce reputation in his day (and a relative to avoid, if you ask me!), but I tried to discover more about his ancestors and descendants, though information from the 12th century and before was understandably sparse. Some of the details were in Norwegian, but I printed all of relevance and looked in history books to learn more.

Armed with as much as the ancestry site had so far yielded, in the September Sheila and I spent a week in Scotland, based in the town where my grandfather had been born and raised before “emigrating” to England’s East coast. We discovered a few facts about my immediate ancestors, took photos of my grandfather’s childhood home and even met the current residents. The pair of us also made a “pilgrimage” to the village bearing the family name, though no relatives were living there by then. However, via Tourist Information, I managed to trace one of my distant cousins, James, who turned out to be a well-known local historian. Sheila and I arranged to meet him for lunch at the town’s museum and spent a wonderful afternoon exchanging family news, both past and present, and looking at the artefacts on display in the glass cases. We got along so well that he invited us to dinner the next evening and, while James and I chatted about our mutual interest, Sheila and his wife Margaret got to know each other and became firm friends almost instantly.

After this, Sheila took a greater interest in my research and suggested I try to find more of my living relatives in Scotland, England and even Norway. The Scandinavian link in particular seemed a longshot, so I concentrated on the British branch. With help, via email exchanges and the occasional telephone conversation with James, I manged to get in electronic contact with two more cousins, Jennifer in Northumberland and Duncan in Edinburgh. Meanwhile, Sheila was busy on her computer pursuing a different line of enquiry, as it turned out. As autumn and winter turned into spring, she began making plans for my 65th birthday celebrations in June and we hired a function room at a local hotel, with catering provided. Having become so friendly with James and Margaret, and being keen to meet Jennifer, Duncan and their families, we sent them invitations and were delighted when they all accepted, assuring us that they would be booking into the hotel where the party was to be held. Of course, our immediate family members were top of our invitation list and were also looking forward to the get-together.

By a stroke of good luck, my birthday, 20th June, was on a Saturday, and the day sped by. Sheila and I were at the venue from 6 p.m. to make sure all preparations had been made, and less than an hour later our two daughters arrived with their husbands and children, followed by the rest of the family. Our son Michael had sent his mum a text to say he would be late, but he gave no reason. Although his wife arrived with their young children, there was still no explanation for Michael’s delayed arrival.

The party got underway quickly with everyone chatting and catching up on news. Our distant cousins from further north were introduced to all our other guests and we did our best to make them feel welcome, spending the early part of the evening getting to know them in person. As quiet, friendly people, they fitted in well and were soon discussing their links to us, often mentioning names and places familiar to them but which, till then, we’d known little of. Despite all the conversations, Michael’s absence did not go unnoticed. However, as neither of our wives seemed concerned, I put it down to a genuine hold-up somewhere.

Just before 8 p.m. Michael arrived, full of apologies and saying that he was late because he’d had to pick up my birthday present. I wondered what on earth it could be. However, I didn’t have to wait long. He asked me to close my eyes, and I heard him walk out of the room, returning a minute later when he told me to open them. What I saw was beyond belief and I thought I was dreaming as there, standing in front of me, were six Vikings – three men and three women of varying ages, with the men dressed as warriors carrying swords and shields and wearing helmets (minus horns!) and the women attired in the long skirts we had seen at the Jorvik Centre a few years before.

At this point, Sheila stepped forward, welcoming them and thanking them for making the long journey. One of the warriors, in friendly fashion, said that the flight had taken just under two and a half hours and had been much quicker than if they had sailed here by longboat! I laughed with them all, relieved that he, at least, spoke English and seemed less fierce than his appearance. He introduced his little group as my long-lost relatives from Oslo and thanked Michael for meeting them at Heathrow in the afternoon and driving them to the hotel before going home to get himself changed for the party. By this time, all the family had gathered round the Scandinavians and were keen to know their names and welcome them to Britain.

The eldest of the warriors introduced himself as Alex, adding that his full name was too long to use other than on official documents! His female companions were his wife Freya, their daughter Brigit and his sister Karin. The men were also relatives – brother Ragnar with his son Niels. They all spoke good English and in no time were chatting to everyone and telling us how much they were enjoying the company, food and drink and how wonderful it had been when Sheila had invited them to this celebration. They made it clear they were not warriors, despite their costumes, but all belonged to a Viking society back home, which was designed more to entertain and teach people about their heritage than to engage in mock battles. It transpired that Alex was a History lecturer, while Freya taught English, and Ragnar and Karin both worked at a museum. Brigit and Niels were still at university, studying History, with bright futures ahead.

When I had a moment, I took Sheila to one side and asked who they were exactly and how they had been invited. She then quickly revealed that she had been doing some research of her own into my Norwegian background and though it had proved difficult, with much time spent getting nowhere, she had eventually had a lucky break coming across Alex Svenson on the same ancestry site. He was looking for British people with a similar surname, in the hope they might be related. In this cause, he had found a Scottish lawyer who lived in Sutherland and was related to Duncan in Edinburgh. After much research on everyone’s part, it seemed that I had not only Duncan and Jennifer as “new” cousins, but also the gentleman in Sutherland as well as Alex and family related to me, albeit distantly.

This all seemed quite amazing, and I was keen to chat to Alex and Duncan about it. I asked Sheila how long they were staying – all the British family members were leaving on Tuesday, while the Vikings were here till the next weekend. Armed with this information, I asked Sheila if we could perhaps arrange to have dinner with all our guests before they left. She said this was already booked for the next evening in the restaurant at this hotel and I was the last to know!

After the buffet meal, I was given some wonderful presents by my guests and our Norwegian friends invited us all to a Viking festival which was taking place locally the next day to celebrate the summer solstice. While there would be no actual sun worshipping, there would be demonstrations of Viking life, including their arts and crafts, warrior battles and Viking food and drink available to sample. Alex then announced they would be leaving for a short while to go to their hotel rooms to get changed as they hoped to dance when the music started, this feat being relatively impossible for a fully clad warrior! They returned in smart casual, modern clothes and joined in the merriment as the evening fled by.

Before taking our leave of our guests, all of whom had just a short walk within the hotel to their rooms, Sheila and I helped to organise transport for everyone so they could attend the Viking festival. Michael and I offered to drive them all, in groups, from the hotel in the late morning and back again in the late afternoon, where we’d all meet in the evening for a meal.

We had a lovely day at the festival and learned so much! Our Norwegian friends answered our questions about all that was going on, and even knew some of the participants – all of whom were of Scandinavian origin. We took photos and were delighted that the sun shone brightly throughout the day. Our guests got to know each other well and were invited to our house for lunch the next day. Unfortunately, our immediate family members couldn’t join us, as it was back to work and school for them.

The next morning we accompanied our British relatives to King’s Cross station for their journeys to their respective homes, then the Norwegians kept us company for their remaining few days in London, and we took them sightseeing. When it was time for them to fly home, we were very sorry to see them leave but promised to keep in touch by email and think about their very kind invitation to spend Yuletide with them.

I am pleased to say that Sheila and I did travel to Oslo for the festive season and, between the emails and seeing them in person, we have become good friends and learned a lot more about Norway, Viking history and a little of the language. However, that is all for another chapter…

© Chasqui Penguin, 2021

Twitter: @ChasquiPenguin

12 Comments

  1. Well, that was interesting, and quite a different bit of writing! There are a lot of links between the Vikings and Britain! The Vikings did get about a bit! Very enjoyable read!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Many thanks for reading this, Simon, and your appreciative comments. The Vikings certainly left their mark on many countries and I understand that a number of words used in English today are of Norse origin: egg, bag, skirt, sky etc. I also believe they settled here for the better weather – not many could claim that!! Thanks again and I’ll be leaving a comment on your site soon.

      Like

  2. This is such fun; it’s like we’re meeting distant relatives of our own as we follow this story through the character’s experience. It’s all very plausible as well. The way the Internet can link people up is astonishing. I especially love the scene you depicted with the Viking costumes, by the way. What a birthday to remember!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The internet has definitely been instrumental in getting people in touch with each other across the world. Delving back to the 12th century and earlier would be not be an easy task, especially as the Vikings were not noted for their documentation but perseverance usually pays off. Our family link to the Norwegian Vikings of those times, via the Scottish side, seems genuine, (though searching into the Irish side is quite likely to reveal Viking ancestry too), but it is quite surprising that the Viking appearance was maintained down the generations with my dad, one of his brothers and their father and a few of their cousins, and is still continuing (though missed me, of course!). Thank you very much for your interest in this and all you help and support with my writing, over the years.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. In view of how much I enjoy it, there’s really no need to thank me. Thank YOU for having the patience to work through things with me!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Any time, as you know – always here for you. And without your meticulous observations, my writing would lack the polish your suggestions give to it all.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Like the wondrous Rowan Atkinson said, perfectionism is a disease, not a quality. It’s nice to know the good side of my disease helps you along the way though. Thank you. xxx

      Like

      1. Those, like you and Rowan Atkinson, may not think they have achieved perfection but it’s close enough for those of us admiring their work. Your perfectionism is an asset to me with your proofreading, especially as you haven’t inherited that from me! That said, I think I am halfway between you and “chuck it on as is”!!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. It really is kind of you to value my little input so much. A halfway approach like yours is more manageable, mind you.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Muse of Air says:

    Interesting read! As far as I know, the Vikings arrived in some islands near the west of Scotland before AD 1000. No surprise the visitors were fierce and belligerent but they certainly left their trace in language, culture and genetics!

    Like

  6. Many thanks for reading my story which is pure invention, with inspiration from my family background. There is definitey a distinct Viking legacy in Scotland and my family, on Dad’s side, is said to have Norwegian Viking ancestors, the earliest moving to Caithness in Northern Scotland around 12th century. My Dad, with his blond curly hair, inherited that from his father whose father moved from Scotland to the East coast of England during the Victorian era, certainly had a Nordic look, all those centuries later.

    Last month on my site, I posted another Viking-linked piece – A Letter from Jorvik. This consists of a letter from a settler in Jorvik (present day York) in which I tried to give an impression of life for the immigrants who were almost certainly from Denmark, as we know it today. I am well aware there is little likelihood of any young Viking woman being able to read and write but this was for a letter-writing topic for the writers’ group a few years ago and, as so often, I decided to take an unusual approach to the theme.

    Like

  7. Muse of Air says:

    So lovely of you to have a research about your ancestors and learn more about your roots! Most people don’t pay much attention to ancestry and it can certainly give hints about who we are. Furthermore, in your case it’s been the inspiration of some stories!

    Like

Leave a Comment