A Special Friend – Chapter 2

This is the second chapter of a novel I began a few years ago and is beginning to border on the surreal with Fluffy’s unlikely lifestyle. The story is still a work in progress, but I am slowly adding to it and shall post more tales from A Special Friend next year.

The audio version is on Anchor: https://anchor.fm/dashboard/episode/e1k5ado

If you missed the first chapter Summer Mornings, you can catch up now – https://wordpress.com/post/chasquiswritingworld.wordpress.com/196

This is a fictional story. Any resemblance to reality is pure coincidence.

A SPECIAL FRIEND

Chapter 2

Moving to the Northern Hemisphere

My planned journey back home had been complicated by the unexpected extra passenger, and so our departure was delayed while I communicated by telephone with our head office in England. They were aware of Fluffy’s original stay with us, but now I had to tell them she was back and I wanted to take her home, going on to outline thereasonsI felt this would be best for her. Although they were decidedly hesitant at first, they got back to me a little later to say it would be allowed but the flight route would have to be changed to avoid countries with their strict but sensible quarantine laws. However, before we could even set off, Fluffy’s six months of quarantine back in England had to be arranged. At this point, Andrea spoke to Tom, the veterinary officer at HO, and suggested approaching a private zoo which was yet to open. It was owned by Michael Green, a qualified vet and friend of hers from their university course, and was only about five miles from my hometown (what luck!). She dictated Michael’s email address to Tom, along with details of Fluffy and her medical check-up, and we waited with crossed fingers for a reply. This arrived the next day, and it was “Yes” – Michael had agreed to take Fluffy for her six-month stay and could provide her with indoor accommodation and a large swimming pool, along with regular health checks for official purposes. He knew a veterinary penguin expert who would be happy to oversee her on a regular basis, and Michael was even happy to keep her beyond the six months, pending a decision about her future. My hopes of having her living with me were dashed at that point, but I agreed as there was no way I wanted to leave her behind, especially as I felt she would pine – after all it was Fluffy herself who had made the decision to leave the sea and return to me. So, from the journey viewpoint, we were in business. A couple of days later Fluffy and I were airborne and, with the Certificate of Health provided by Andrea, Fluffy was able to board the flights to England, wrapped in a blanket for each aircraft transfer, and travel in a large box, to which she seemed to have no objection. On arrival on English soil, Fluffy was quickly transferred to a van, and I accompanied her to the zoo, meeting Michael and seeing she was settled and calm before I went home to my lonely house which I had left just over a year before. I spent every day and part of every night with Fluffy for the first week as she got used to Mike and his staff. I then felt happier about leaving her but did visit her every day for the full six months. In that time, she led the life of Riley, with her own room and swimming pool plus entertainment provided by a screen they set up to see how she would respond to this unnatural form of vision. She lapped it up, making a series of her chirpy sounds as she seemed to recognise the shape of other penguins, snow and photos of me. She was checked regularly by the penguin expert David who at the end of six months declared her fit to live in the outside world again. Leading up to this, I had discussed with David and Mike the possibility of taking her home with me. At first they thought it impossible, but as they saw the way Fluffy reacted whenever I arrived and the way she walked next to me and would lie down beside me as I sat chatting to them, they agreed on a trial period.

In the intervening months I had been preparing my house and garden for my penguin friend. This involved buying buckets and bowls, as well as putting in a provisional order for a daily supply of fresh fish to be delivered and kept in a refrigerator solely for her food – luckily I had sufficient room for these extras. In addition, I was having a pool dug at the end of my long garden, which while not massive would give her a chance to swim if she didn’t mind turning round frequently. The conservatory was to be her dedicated room. Though there was no chance of fitting a penguin flap, the doorway was wide enough for her to go in and out easily. From the job angle, I had accepted a post on the company’s magazine, contributing scientific articles and checking content of the many prospective contributions which poured in weekly. This allowed me to work at home so Fluffy would not have to be left alone in the house all day. Mike and David came to look over the arrangements and agreed that we could give it a go but if it didn’t work out, Fluffy could return to the zoo and, as she had taken so well to her life in quarantine, could well become a permanent resident and tourist attraction there.

Therefore, on a fine September day I went to collect Fluffy and we were driven to my house in the zoo van. From here she took her first steps up the front path and into her new home. Mike and David accompanied us and watched her reactions. She stood in the hallway, looking at me as if to say, “Well, aren’t you going to show me round?” Taking the hint, I proceeded to walk into the living room then kitchen, accompanied by Fluffy who took a keen interest in the microwave, probably because she was fascinated by her reflection in the door. When I took her through to the conservatory and sat down in a low chair, she immediately flopped down beside me. From then on, she seemed content. After a few minutes I fetched her hat and scarf and she chirped loudly as soon as she saw these and again as I put both on her.

Since then our life together has gone from strength to strength. Fluffy settled in so well and quickly that her trial period in my house was soon declared permanent, on the understanding that she would be welcome back at the zoo if circumstances changed. She spends much of her time indoors and can settle in any room – she loves the TV and her little pool, where I sometimes join her, but I have to admit she derives even greater pleasure from her swims in the zoo’s much larger pool on our weekly visits there. As we still have a kick around with the football, it seemed a good idea to buy a net goal to give her something to aim at.

When the snow arrived in early winter she took great delight in walking round in it, looking down at her footprints in wonder. Though fish is still her favourite food, she is keen to try some of my meals and was beside herself with joy when given her first taste of ice cream on a spoon! After she had been with me for just a few months, I found she was beginning to understand a handful of words. She comes immediately when I call her name, has learned that “fish” means dinner and “TV” entertainment, and she settles down near me to watch. Although I had intended the conservatory to be her area, she doesn’t like to be alone for long and will join me in any room. At night she lies down beside my bed till the alarm rings! Against all odds, Fluffy has settled down to life in an ordinary house. She has undergone two transformations in the three years since we first met – the natural one from chick to adult and the unnatural from wild penguin to pet or, to be more precise, good friend. She seems as content as any penguin can be, but I live in hope that one day we will find her a mate so she can have the company she really deserves, as well as chicks of her own. Watch this space, as the saying goes…

© Chasqui Penguin, 2021                                                             

Twitter: @ChasquiPenguin

4 Comments

  1. Another great read! Seems very real, and it is sometimes hard to remember that it isn’t! Hope it’s not too long before the next bit!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Many thanks for your kind words and continuing interest in my writing. It’s reassuring to find that the story has a realistic ring to it – the idea of an emperor penguin living in a house is a little bizarre, considering the difficulty of keeping them in zoos as they are truly wild Antarctic creatures, but delving into the surreal, while keeping the basis of a story in the real world is something I really enjoy as it gives me more scope. I do intend to give Fluffy another month to herself earlyish in 2022, but have a few other stories planned for Jan and Feb. I also intend to catch up on your blog after Christmas – still getting various extras downloaded or sorted out on my new computer but it’s coming together, in between the preparations for the festive season, mostly ensuring we have enough food in stock! Husband Paul reckons the kitchen is his favourite room in our house!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a heartwarming story, and it was perfect for December.

    I particularly loved envisaging Fluffy chirping with excitement at the sight of the hat and scarf – cuteness in the extreme!

    Like

    1. Delighted you like the story of Fluffy. There are more chapters which I plan to post on here in due course. Many thanks for taking the time to read it and send a message.

      Like

Leave a Comment